August reads

I haven’t done much reading this month for reasons unknown to me; but I did manage to complete a few books which I am so happy to share. These are the books that I have completed in the month of August:
IMG_20150830_171347

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

If you want to read my full review on this book then please check it out here. Cinder was the first book I read this month and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was so different to the books I normally choose and the story really inspired me to read more from this genre. I gave it 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet is book two in the Lunar Chronicles. While Cinder is loosely based on the fairytale of Cinderella; Scarlet is based on Little Red Riding Hood. Scarlet was very slow for me. I liked the new characters that were introduced and how they fit into the original story, where Cinder left off; but I thought the story line was very predictable. To me, Scarlet was just a book to launch you into Cress – book three in the series and based on Rapunzel. I gave it 3/5 stars on Goodreads.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I reached page 70 of Shatter Me and I put it down with absolutely no intention of picking it back up again. I could not stand Mafi’s writing – metaphor overkill!! A lot of it did not make sense and was just plain and simple, BAD writing! But for some reason I started reading it again and I came to enjoy it in the end. It was a fast paced story, with short chapters which I loved. I liked the characters even though they annoyed me a lot at first. Shatter Me is an intriguing read (that apparently will be made into a TV series) and I understand I am not alone in the struggle when I say that I don’t know who I like more: Warner or Adam!?! I gave it 2.5-3/5 stars on Goodreads.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling

This book is not shown in the picture because I read it from my tablet. I read Harry Potter a few years ago and I didn’t like it because I felt it was more of a children’s book and the writing was too simple for my liking. But then I decided to re-read it this month because I LOVE the movies. You guys, I am hooked! I love this series for everything that it is and I only wish that I could have given it a better chance when I was younger! I completely understand the hype around it and why so many people are die hard fans… I am collecting the new editions because they’re just so darn pretty, and also, I simply HAVE to have them on my bookshelf. Someone made a comment on my Instagram feed that they’re so jealous because I get to read Harry Potter for the very first time – that is how I feel most of the time when people read a book I love – I am enjoying the other end of the spectrum. I gave it 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I took a long time to reach the end of this book. Mainly because I read it slowly and did not want it to end! I loved the twins and how they told their stories. It was predictable I won’t lie; but I still loved the story with all my heart. I want to do a full review on this book so for now I will say that I gave it 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

I have a list of books I am currently reading, which I am sure you’ve seen if you follow me on Instagram. I also want to start a comic book collection but I have NO IDEA where to start!! So if any one have any tips or ideas on where I can begin with comics, then please pop a comment below!

Oh!! And HAPPY SPRING everyone in Cape Town!! (Happy 1st September to everyone around the world!!)

– Nihaad

25 thoughts on “August reads

  1. Nadia says:

    Ooh, I downloaded Cinder but have another series I want to finish reading before I start with it. Glad to see you thought it was okay 🙂 By the way, if you purchase ebooks, you might want to subscribe to bookbub.com – the site emails you book deals every day/week/month depending on your choice, and you can “buy” free books from Amazon almost on a daily basis.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      Hi Nadia 🙂 I have never heard of bookbub.com so thank you for bringing it to my attention! I will definitely check it out asap because I am always on the lookout for new books to read on my tab! Buying books is getting expensive!! Cinder was good, but I hear Cress is the best out of all so I am going to get that soon. You should totally recommend some book series that you enjoyed! 🙂

      Like

    • Nihaad says:

      I think anyone who enjoyed The Fault in our Stars will enjoy this one too. Jandy Nelson’s writing is similar to John Green’s. It was my favourite read – apart from HP of course – this month!

      Like

    • Nihaad says:

      I enjoyed Cinder too but Scarlet was a bit flat for me! I am getting Cress so that I can be up to date when Winter comes out! I agree with you on Shatter Me – there were A LOT of different opinions on this book! I was so confused until I just took the leap and read it for myself!

      Thanks for visiting Kristin 🙂

      Like

  2. twinsturnpages says:

    This seems like such an amazing reading month!! All these titles sound amazing!! I’ve recently just read Cinder and LOVED it! I’ll give you the sun is one of my favourite books, I’m so glad you enjoyed it too!! This was a great post!! -A xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      Hi Ayesha! Thanks for stopping by!! I am so happy you enjoyed the post and I hope to see more of you over on this side of the interweb 🙂 I cannot wait to get hold of Cress because the build up in Scarlet left me craving for more!! Also, I really would like to read Jandy Nelson’s The Sky is Everywhere – it sounds SO good!

      Liked by 1 person

      • twinsturnpages says:

        Awhhh I hope to see more of you too!! Eeek I can’t wait to read Scarlet now!! OH MY GOSH I LOVE THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE! It’s one of my favourite books of all time!! Enjoy reading it, I hope you love it!!! ❤️❤️ x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nihaad says:

        I look forward to reading your take on it!! I hope you enjoy it! 🙂 🙂 Really?? Wow, ok, now I have to get that too!! I really enjoy Jandy Nelson’s writing; and I too a peak at TSIE and LOVED that it contains illustrations much like I’ll Give You the Sun! I appreciated that because it just brightened up the whole experience!

        Liked by 1 person

      • twinsturnpages says:

        Awhh thank you! I’ll let you know what I think when I’ve read it!!! Me too! Jandy Nelson writes so poetically, her writing is just so beautiful!! Aaaah yes all the illustrations give so much characters to the book I loved the part they play in the story! Enjoy reading it, and please let me know what you think!!!x

        Liked by 2 people

      • Nihaad says:

        I loved it!!! Did a review of it all on its own because it was just that special – deserved its own review. I really want to read more of her work because of how much I enjoyed IGYTS

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Rita says:

    I’ve wanting to pick up Cinder and Shatter Me for the longest time!! I’ve seen mixed reviwes for both of them and my best friend (whom I trust when it comes to books) actually HATED Cinder but loved Shatter Me so I think I’ll have to see for myself. So glad you enjoyed Harry Potter! I read the philosopher’s stone last year and I thought it was really good but kind of middle grade which makes me sad I didn’t read it when I was younger (I was scared of it XD) but as the series goes on the books start to become more YA which I love. I hope you continue enjoying Harry Potter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      Hi Rita!!! Thanx for the comment!! I agree there are mixed reviews on both those books and I admit I can see why. Cinder was written better in my opinion. Like I said, I didn’t particularly like Tahereh Mafi’s writing style so maybe that is why I liked Cinder better. It could also be because Cinder was different to my usual book choice… I agree with you about HP!! When I read it years ago I felt the writing was poor. But now I quite enjoy it! Think I would have loved the first 2 even more if I read it in Primary School though.

      Like

Leave a comment