I’ll Give you the sun by Jandy Nelson

IMG_20150822_122257I’ll Give You the Sun was a beautiful book that I felt deserved a review all on it’s own. A story filled with so much heartbreak and pain that you would come out on the other side wondering how it is possible to still feel whole…

I’ll Give You the Sun takes place over a period of three years; following the events that occur in the teenage lives of twins, Noah and Jude. The book is written from the twins’ perspectives, and it is told from two different points in their lives. Noah tells his story from the age of 13, while Jude tells her side of things from the age of 16 – the present – and throughout the book, one gets the sense that something happened between the two which caused them to drift apart.

This book was so brilliantly crafted, that it brought to life every feeling and emotion written on the page. The way the characters expressed themselves through art spilt over in the form of illustrations that made for an overly special reading experience.

IMG_20150822_215231

Jandy Nelson’s Jude and Noah were vividly dimensional – they changed throughout the story in ways I never expected. At the beginning of the book I adored Noah; he was a lost soul roaming the world by his lonesome, in the shadow of his beautiful sister. I wanted to pick him from the book, give him a hug and assure him that everything will be ok. And when it came to a point where that statement would be deemed a lie; well, my heart broke for him – for the boy he was meant to be. Then there was Jude – a character that completely floored me because of how different she turned out to be from what I was expecting. She was strong even when she herself felt weak. She was weird, and wonderful in ways that makes a fictional character stay with you long after you’ve completed their story. And as I type this very sentence, I am realizing how perfect that makes these two characters – they compliment each other in ways that I imagine, only twins can.

Even though I predicted what the underlying issue was, I still enjoyed this book right up until the very end. And even though I predicted what the underlying issues were, I only came to fully understand the impact of these issues once I reached the end of the story. That on its own was the deciding factor for the 5/5 stars I gave this book.

There is so much more that can be written about I’ll Give You the Sun. So much more that I really want to say! But I think some things should be left to experience personally. Do yourself a favour, and read this book!

“Or maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people,” I say. “Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time.” Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things.”
– Jandy Nelson, I’ll Give You the Sun

– Nihaad

15 thoughts on “I’ll Give you the sun by Jandy Nelson

    • Nihaad says:

      Thank you so much Tammy!! This book was just so special to me. I cannot wait to read The sky is everywhere!! Not going to have unrealistic expectations though… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

