Newlands Forest Hike

IMG_20151024_161557

Hey everyone! I trust you had an amazing weekend doing everything you day dreamed of doing during the hectic work week. I am back with another little picture post showing what I’ve been up to this weekend…

It was my Aunt’s birthday on Saturday which meant that she could go up Table Mountain for free. The husband and I dropped her, the Mom and Sister at the cable car station and spent the few hours admiring the sites from below, since we’re hella broke (LOL!)

Table Mountain from below

Table Mountain from below

Some of the indigenous plants known as Fynbos

Some of the indigenous plants known as Fynbos

Signal Hill

Signal Hill

Lion's Head

Lion’s Head

City Center

City Center

We waited for about 3 hours for them to return; and those 3 hours were probably the highlight of my weekend. Taufeeq and I had some ice cream, walked around admiring the beauty of our city and sang along to songs playing on the radio. We talked and laughed and acted like total idiots together, enjoying the fresh air and sunshine.

On Sunday morning we headed out for a hike at Newlands Forest. It was overcast and there was a light drizzle the whole way through; but even so the weather was perfect for hiking.

Creepy abandoned cottage

Creepy abandoned house

At the start of the trail there is an abandoned cottage which looks super creepy. I am really eager to know the history behind it because it looks very old.

Me enjoying the drizzle

Me enjoying the drizzle

Screenshot_2015-10-26-19-57-02-1 Screenshot_2015-10-26-19-55-40-1 Screenshot_2015-10-26-19-55-07-1

Misty view of the city

Misty view of the city

Screenshot_2015-10-26-19-52-58-1This trail was not as hard as the one we did a couple of weeks back. The trees provides lots of shade so it is an ideal hiking trail for the hot summer days headed our way. The change of scenery gives you an idea of why Cape Town is said to be one of the most beautiful cities in the world – and believe me these pictures do absolutely no justice.

Despite SA losing to the All Blacks on Sunday and being kicked out of the Rugby World Cup; it was a fun filled weekend which made me long for the Summer break!

What have you been up to this past weekend?

– Nihaad

14 thoughts on “Newlands Forest Hike

  1. khansana1000 says:

    I am super jealous of the sunny first picture!! πŸ˜€ :D, haha just kidding! it was sad weather here..saturday was gone in being angry over my landlord, i enjoyed sunday cooking at home and did our weekly grocery shopping! and yes it’s month end so cannot do much ! πŸ˜‰ loved your pictures and how you spend the day out! Barakallah feeki my sister!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      Haha we are headed for summer now so expect lots of pics in the sunshine πŸ™‚ I am sorry you had a hectic weekend, I hope the rest of the week turns out better for you Insha’Allah.

      May Allah bless you my sister
      Xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. onlytruemagic says:

    Oh, those sights are definitely something to behold! Cape Town is definitely a place that my partner and I have been talking about visiting one day and I may have to show him these pictures to nudge him in the right direction. (: I’m glad you had such an incredible time exploring your city! It looks like it was amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      You two should really try to get out here, you will not be disappointed I can promise you! The sites are unbelievable, and I am sure it will sway him to book you guys a little vacation over here!

      Sometimes you get so caught up in the hussle and bussle you forget to admire your surroundings. I am making more of an effort to explore my city which has been much fun so far!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      Hi Bethany!! You should definitely take advantage of having relatives over here; they would know where all the cool places are and they would be great tour guides!

      Like

  3. Loubnanya says:

    This is absolutely beautiful…
    You are lucky to live there! We never finish to discover our own city, right πŸ˜‰
    Thank you again for allowing me to discover your country!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      It is beautiful isn’t it? I am fortunate to be living on this side of the world and I often take it for granted. But now I am beginning to take advantage of my home town and trying to make the most of all that it has to offer! I am thrilled to have you to share it with πŸ™‚ Xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

