FOMO

alt text

When it comes to keeping up with the techno-slang, I fall way behind. These days when I log onto social media platforms I have to keep Google open on a separate tab so that I can search the meaning of these words that might as well be a foreign language to me. ButΒ ever since I came across the term FOMO and discovered what it actually stands for, it was as ifΒ someone had turned on a switch in my mind.

Since this is a term being thrown around so often these days, I gather FOMO is a very real occurrence in today’s society. I have no doubt that it’s a result of our exposure to other people’s lives through social media. It can be so easy to fall into the trap of questioning your life plans when you see someone else doing what you wish you could be doing in that very moment.

But I have realised, that the more I fixate on something that I could be doing, the more I am letting opportunities pass me by to do something in that moment. I am living in my mind instead of living. For example:

Last week I was feeling so blagh, I wanted to get out and do something fun. But I ended up wasting so much time moping that I let an entire day pass me by and I could get nothing done. At about 5:30 that evening the husband took me for a drive up Signal Hill, and even though it was a short outing, it did me the world of good to get out and see the beauty of this city I call home.
DSC05078_Sun
DSC05084_Aladin
DSC05092_Sun
DSC05095_Sun
DSC05098_Sun
DSC05101_Sun
DSC05102_Sun

Sometimes we get swept away by the life we are trying to build for ourselves that we forget to live the life we want. I am sick of the FOMO!! I prefer to enjoy the spur of the moment drive up Signal Hill on a misty Sunday evening with my favourite person in the world; instead of dreaming about the end of year holidays. Yes I am excited for the holidays, but I don’t want to wait until then to have some adventure, I don’t want the days in between to go by uneventful. After all, Happiness is a journey not a destination.

23 thoughts on “FOMO

  1. Aaliyah Zahra says:

    I have to google slang terms as well. Thanks for enlightening me with FOMO. And the pictures are beautiful. You are right about feeling stuck in a rut and spur of moment drives freshing one up. Happiness comes in the littlest of things. One just has to appreciate πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      So so true Aaliyah! We also have to take full advantage of our youth! Why should we wait for a time in the future to experience the world and be happy? We should live for now and create memories that we can look back on as the years go by! Always lovely having you here πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aaliyah Zahra says:

        Exactly!! And you don’t need to travel to the most beautiful places to create memories, you can do it at your footstep. Allah has created beauty everywhere. It depends on how you decide to view it and cherish it.
        My pleasure πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nihaad says:

        So true… There is beauty all around us – there is no need to go to a different country or continent to see all the beauty of the world. Taking little trips around your own town can open your eyes to so much possibilities. We are so blessed Alghamdulillah!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. twinsturnpages says:

    Aaaah Nihaad what an inspirational post!! I would love to fit in some time for adventure in my life but it’s my last year of high school and I’m applying to university and there’s so much stress!! This post was a nice reminder that all this stress isn’t everything and there is more to life than school and work! The pictures are absolutely gorgeous and you and your husband look so happy together!! This was a lovely post!! Lots of love Ayesha xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      Hi Ayesha, so glad to see your name popping up over here πŸ™‚ I know that everything gets so incredibly hectic, it has been that way for me too (even more so) lately. But when I am at work I can’t help think that there has got to be more to this! If all we do it stress and worry and work then what is the point? There is SO much beauty in this world that we should be seeing. Getting out and relaxing makes me feel so much better and I feel like I have accomplished something even more than what I do when I meet a deadline! You need to break away from time to time and do something that you can look back on as you get older. I am aiming to do more of that – I don’t want to work my life away and let LIVING take a back seat.

      Lots of love Nihaad xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • twinsturnpages says:

        Awwhhh thank you Nihaad!! I really have missed the blogosphere! I couldn’t agree with you more, we all need to have time to just breathe and enjoy our lives!! I wish you well with your plans and I can’t wait to hear what you’ve been up to! This was so lovely and inspirational! I really do need to take a leaf out of your book! -A xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Poppie Tee says:

    I think you’ve got it spot on… I’m considered young and I still have a hard time trying to keep up with the latest trends and things happening in this fast-pace world. Spontaneity is something that is always guaranteed to add little drama and flare to your life. love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      I think part of me gave up on keeping up with the trends a long time ago. Now I am just doing my own thing, which is working out rather well for me. I agree with you on being spontaneous, it is great to take a break from the routine and experience something new! Thanks for the lovely comment Poppie πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. smsyed says:

    Omg I thought I was the only one?! I hate the idea of missing out! But you are right there’s nothing better than being spontaneous and doing something. I read this post and my first thought was STORY OF MY LIFE! Especially the mopping around part and hubs taking me for an evening drive. So relatable!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. smsyed says:

    Omg what can I say except for STORY OF MY LIFE! This post was spot on for me and so relatable! I hate the idea that I’m missing out on what’s happening outside my door but at the same te being spontaneous is so exciting too! Great post as usual! Sorry for not being around much…your girl is in the middle of a move to a new city. I’ll save that for a blog post if you’re interested but just know I’m reading your blog!
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      Awww Saf, always a pleasure seeing you on my side of the www πŸ™‚ I am happy you could relate, I think so many of us are secretly going through this. It is something that we can only overcome by getting out there and doing SOMETHING. No matter how small, experiencing something new and different is a fantastic pick-me-upper.

      So excited for you on your new journey and I wish you and the hubby all the very best! I am looking forward to reading about the big move as well as whats been going on in your life lately πŸ™‚

      XO

      Like

  6. Sprinkle of Surprise says:

    didn’t know what FOMO meant myself, until a few months ago!
    great post and blog! just gave you a follow here and on instagram, would love if you’d follow me back as well! @sprinkleofsurprise
    love meeting my fellow blogger girls out here πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nihaad says:

      Hi Sana, so nice hearing from you πŸ™‚ I had a wonderful weekend which made up for the last couple of weeks! Hope you are having a great week so far, and an even better week further! Thanks for visiting Xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

