My 4 university tips

IMG_20150801_181502 - Copy
I miss varsity. The ability to answer: “I am studying”, when people ask what you’re doing with your life, instead of having to explain what it is you do for a living. Taking personal days when you want to do nothing but lie in bed and watch reruns of your favourite TV shows. I miss the freedom!! And even though I am excited about moving forward as an adult with responsibilities, I think I could’ve done some things differently to help pave the way for the next step. So if you’re still in university and you’re looking for a few ways to enrich your experience, this is for you. If you’re not, well, then you can reminisce on the good old days when you could wear sloppy jeans and flip flops when you just feel lazy.

#1 Travel

I know this sounds crazy because while studying you’re usually broke. But I only realized later that there are so many amazing opportunities for students to travel. You could teach English as a foreign language, work on a cruise and tour the world by sea, you could volunteer to pick apples in Australia for crying out loud!!

#2 Network

I mentioned before how important it is to network because it can open doors to new opportunities. It is even better when you start early. University is the perfect place to start because you can build your contact list with people who know you better than passing acquaintances.

#3 Start a new hobby

When I was studying I always felt like I had no time. I could not have been more wrong! During your time on varsity is when you have all the time and opportunity to do what you want. Start a new hobby and try new things which could build your skills and broaden your field of interest. It will come in handy in the future and it can be something to add to your blank CV. Start a blog, take up photography or go surfing; the possibilities are endless.

#4 Build your skills

Don’t limit yourself to your curriculum. Try to find skills that will be useful in your career or develop new skills in areas outside your course. Your time on university is a great place to do this because like I said, you have all the time you need. Brush up on your computer skills, learn how to cook or try tutoring to improve your communication skills. Simple tasks that we tend to overlook can really serve as an opportunity to build the skills you may need in the near future.

What tips do you have for those looking to make the most of their days on University?

– Nihaad

5 thoughts on “My 4 university tips

    • Nihaad says:

      Aww thanks Maria. I am so happy you found it helpful. University is a great experience, make the most out of each day and more importantly – enjoy every moment!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

