Home

Table Mountain, Cape Town.

Table Mountain, Cape Town.

It’s a dream of mine to travel the world and explore different cities. To take a picture next to the pyramids of Giza in Egypt, look down from atop the Leaning Tower of Pisa in Italy, walk along the Great Wall of China and bask in the sunlight on the golden sands of Mauritius. And even though I haven’t travelled much (yet!!) I am fortunate to have seen some beautiful places in my short lifetime. However, there’s just something about coming home. Even if I am visiting a place near Cape Town for a couple of hours, on the drive home looking over the distance I find this sense of relief and comfort when my eyes catch that first glimpse of Table Mountain.

As a South African I can complain a lot – like only a true South African can. I tend to find that splotch of grey in the cloud with the silver lining. I hate all the corruption and crime, my heart breaks hearing all the terrible things happening to innocent, good people. I find it so unfair how some people can get away with almost anything simply because they are famous or rich. I get annoyed with load shedding and the increase in petrol prices, and the need to look over my shoulder when I set my foot out the door. But when I read the news and my contact lenses almost stick to the back of my skull because of all the eye rolling, I still can’t help feeling offended by all these negative reports on my country.

Cape Town is a beautiful part of South Africa. It’s the warmest place to be even when we are in the heart of winter, and the most vibrant even when the city skies are grey and bleak. We have a rich cultural background, and as far as I’ve experienced we all respect each other’s religious beliefs. We may be a little hostile on our off days, and we may take our frustrations out on the taxi’s in the morning (with good reason) but when it boils down to it, we are a city who embraces our diversity and unite in our differences.

It’s a dream of mine to travel the world and explore different cities. To drive across the Golden Gate bridge in San Francisco, stand in front of the Mona Lisa at the Louvre in France, have dinner at the Burj al Khalifa in Dubai, and watch the Indian cricket team play at Eden Gardens in Kolkata. And when I get to go on all these adventures some day, when I get to see the wonders of the world in all its glory; there’s one thing I will be looking out for after winning the window seat from my husband in a quick game of rock, paper, scissors in the airplane. Looking out in the distance, getting that first glimpse of Table Mountain, I will be comforted by the sight of its beauty.

Because in spite of its downfalls and imperfections, the City of Cape Town in the country of South Africa is the place that I call HOME.

– Nihaad

8 thoughts on “Home

  1. Loubnanya says:

    Wooow Beautifully written! It makes me want to visit Cape Town so much!!! And this picture… Is your country full of those infinite mountains landscapes?
    I hear a lot about insecurity there, but I guess it depends on the town. Anyway, you are lucky to live in such a tolerant country, where diversity is seen as a richness 🙂 In France, we muslims, are really unwanted these days.. Speaking of my country, I think you would be deceived by Mona Lisa!!! Her LITTLE painting is so protected that you can only admire it from far away, not to mention the crowd of chinese people photographying her at the same time.. To sum up, you don’t see anything! Hahaaha

    Like

    • Nihaad says:

      Shukran so much for reading it!! I am so happy you enjoyed the post. Cape Town is a world in one city, truly a beautiful place to see. The city central is not full of mountain landscapes, which is what makes Table Mountain so spectacular (and why it is regarded as one of the wonders of the world Maasha’Allah) but as you leave the city you are faced with what seems like endless mountain ranges.

      I have seen what is happening in France and it is so sad. I hate how people can be so narrow minded and unaccepting of eachother, especially during this day and age after all that humankind has faced.

      Aagh no well that is just disappointing!!! But I would still love to see France, from all I have seen on movies and shows, you are lucky to call it home!

      Thanks once again for reading it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Loubnanya says:

        Don’t thank me, sis, I only read what interest me, you know so I’m not forced to read your blog hahah
        Thank youuu for those information, I’m really glad to learn about SA (I hope you do call your country SA or else it would be weird..)
        Ohh yes, you should totally come visit Paris! It’s an extraordinary place & I do love my country, it’s only some of its inhabitant who irritate me, you know..
        Be blessed!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nihaad says:

        Haha yes we call it SA. I think these days you would be more surprised if someone was 100% happy with their country than if they were not! So I completely understand that sentiment.

        Be blessed 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment